I found this recipe on KraftCanada’s website, and I figured I would give it a try Gluten Free style, turned out amazing!

Read On….

Jello Coolwhip pie. My new favorite! So simple too.

1-1/4 cups Gluten Free (Kinnickinnick) Graham Crumbs

1/4 cup  non-hydrogenated margarine, melted

2/3 cup boiling water

1 pkg.  (10.1 g) JELL-O No Sugar Added Strawberry Jelly Powder

ice cubes

1/2 cup  cold water

3/4 thawed COOL WHIP Light Whipped Topping

To make the crust you mix the graham crumbs and melted margarine together, and then press it into the pie plate (9 inch)

Then in a bowl add the boiling water to the jelly powder and stir until it is all dissolved. The 1/2 cup cold water should be a in a measure cup and then you add enough ice to make it 1 cup, then you pour that into the jelly and stir until all the ice is melted. Then you can add 3/4 cup of Cool Whip and mix that until it is blended, pour mixture into your graham crust and refrigerate for 4 hours or until firm.

Then you can add Cool Whip on top before serving.

In my recipe I don’t think I blended the jelly mix and cool whip enough, because as you can see it turned out layered. But hey that looks awesome too! so maybe I should have said I made it do that.

P1010576

 

Bean Chili

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted any food, today was a gloomy and rainy day here so I got busy in the kitchen.

My first recipe is Bean Chili, very simple recipe.

I used 1 large can of bean medley, 1 large can of kidney beans, 1 can of crushed tomatoes and 28g of chili powder dissolved in 1/4 cup of water. Bring it to a boil and simmer for about 15minutes or until it reaches your desired thickness. Top with cheese and serve. I added half a can of sliced mushrooms, one thing I did forget was to add corn to it.

beanchilli

 

Banana Bread

I missed the smell of moms banana bread, and having gone g-free.. I couldn’t have it like I used to. Today I did some recipe searching and modifying. Turned out fabulous.

Instead of your regular All-purpose flour, I used Bob’s Red Mill gluten free all-purpose baking flour and splenda instead of sugar. You can use any recipe and modify it and usually have a good turn out, sometimes not but its a risk sometimes you just have to take.

Recipe:

2/3 cup sugar (I used splenda)

1/3 cup soft margarine

2 eggs, unbeaten

1 and 3/4 cup flour (I used Bob’s Red Mill gluten free all-purpose flour)

2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup mashed bananas

Preheat over to 350F. Mix sugar, margarine and eggs 3 minutes. Add flour, BP, BS, salt and bananas. Bake for about 50minutes.

Enjoy!

bananabreadflour

 

 

 

Baking Bread

So tonight was definately another experimental baking thing. I bought some Gluten-Free Pantry French Bread & Pizza mix. I wanted to make some breadsticks for supper, so I followed the instructions, and topped with oregano, garlic powder and italian dressing. Smelled so yummy coming out of the oven, they were very thick breadsticks, so next time I could probably split it up between 2 pans. This mix was very soft and fluffy, I am impressed with the quality of it for gluten free bread.

breadstickgfpantry

 

 

 

I heart Pesto

Definately a filling pasta meal!

What you need is some brown rice pasta, any shape, I chose Fusili. Boil it, drain and rinse. Then I added some basil pesto and some caesar dressing to taste. Turned out exceptional, I am so full!

Top with cheese or veggies and enjoy! I know I didpasta

 

 

Blueberry Waffles

This morning for breakfast, I really didn’t feel like making something that took a lot of work. Good thing I bought some frozen waffles that you can just pop in the toaster, from Van’s, they are delicious gluten free waffles, and you can top them any way you like. This morning I decided to add a little bit of cool-whip light.

Excellent Brand to use, highly recommended.

wafflePrint

 

 

Rhubarb Bake

So I was experimenting today with a dessert, mom gave me some rhubarb today, and some saskatoon berries for perogies I want to make later. And I was thinking about making a rhubarb crisp, but don’t have any safe oatmeal, and so she said that she always uses pancake mix. I use Kinnickinnick Pancake mix, its great.

I threw the rhubarb in my dish with about five strawberries, all of which are frozen. I added some splenda to make it sweet, and a tiny bit of corn starch, wasn’t sure how much, and i whipped up the pancake mix just like the instructions say on the bag and poured it into the dish on top of the frozen fruits.. or vegetables? Hmm is rhubarb a fruit or veggie? Anyways! then I put it into the oven uncovered, probably for a total time of 40minutes,I just kept an eye on it until I thought it was ready.

Definately an experimental dessert, it turned out very tasty, seemed to take awhile to become less soupy, but the final outcome surprisingly stuck together quite well. Might need to either add more of the mix or less of the solid next time though. But for my first time, can’t complain!

rhubarbkinnickinnick

 

 

Crash Hot Potatoes

Sitting around, feeling hungry, what shall I eat?

I had a craving for potatoes, but not just any ol’ potatoe. I had just bought some mini red potatoes and figured I would whip up something tasty.

I boiled 8 little potatoes, only 70 calories for four. Once they were cooked, I layed them out on a baking sheet and squished them with a potatoe masher, lightly brush on some cooking oil, salt, pepper and chopped green onion, and baked for about 10 minutes at 400F. And voila! what a tasty snack, it can be prepared so many different ways too. And fairly low in calories, and of course… gluten free!potatoe

