This week is dedicated to getting back on track. After being sick and just feeling down right crappy and not exercising. It is time, time to do cardio and strength training daily. My goal is to be able to run 3 miles straight before spring comes around, and then advance from there. Once Spring comes around and the weather becomes nice, I want to be able to take my running outdoors, down by the river, or just out around the golf course to which is my backyard. Beautiful scenery, fresh air, exercise, now that’s my ultimate goal. I have a program I am going to follow to get me started. Here’s how it goes:

 

Week Walking (min) Jogging (min) Reps Total Time
1 4 1 4 20
2 3 2 5 25
3 3 2 6 30
4 2 3 5 25
5 2 3 6 30
6 1 3 8 32
7 1 4 7 35
8 1 4 8 40

 

So basically, I need to be going to the gym at least 3 times per week to maintain this goal. Alternating days with my strength training, which is squats, chin ups, push ups, sit ups, rows, shoulder press etc. Using the pull up bar and resistance bands.

Cardio schedule is Monday, Wednesday and Friday. Strength Training schedule is Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday.

Also, for getting back on track, diet is important! And here’s that plan:

  • drink plenty of water
  • fresh fruits and vegetables for snacks rather than junk food
  • making homemade suppers again

Simple as that!

